The Christmas Gift Conundrum

My Christmas gift knitting has started in earnest. I’ve compiled lists (always the first thing I do in any situation) of the people I want to make gifts for, the gifts I want to make, and the yarn I’ll need to buy. I’ve even purchased most of the yarn I’m going to need. I feel like I’ve made good progress.

But after this, of course, comes the actual knitting-of-the-gifts part. Which presents me with the ‘gift conundrum’. How do I blog about knitting gifts for Christmas, when the recipients of those gifts read this blog? I don’t want to ruin all of my surprises, after all!

So while I obviously want to blog about the projects I’m knitting as Christmas gifts, I’m going to be a bit vague on what exactly they are, and especially who they’re for! My family and friends might guess who’s getting what… but I’ll neither confirm nor deny anything until Christmas!

This is the first gift project I’m working on. The wool is Scrumptious 4 ply from Fyberspates, in ‘Teal’.

It’s incredibly soft. I’m using it to make the ‘whitlam cowl’, a pattern by Jo Spreckley intended for Baa Ram Ewe‘s own yarn, ‘Titus’. I actually intend to make a version in Titus as well, but for the person I have in mind for this gift, the bright colour of this Scrumptious yarn was too good to miss.

photo (27)

The lace pattern is very simple, only two rows that repeat until the cowl has reached the desired length.

It’s very simple but looks really lovely, and it really is super soft! Which of course presents me with an additional Christmas gift conundrum – what to do when I want to make myself a duplicate of everything I’m making other people? Buy double the yarn, I guess…!

2 thoughts on “The Christmas Gift Conundrum

  1. I can completely relate to the gift knitting conundrum. I think your proposed solution sounds great, and my oh my is that cowl lovely. As for the duplicates, I guess that is what Selfish Knitting January is supposed to be about . :)

Leave a Reply

